CALL TO ORDER:

Chair Richard Erwin called the meeting to order at 7:02 PM in the Council Chambers, 9611 SE 36th Street, Mercer Island, Washington.

ROLL CALL:

Chair Richard Erwin; Vice-Chair Colin Brandt; Commissioners Susanne Foster, Daniel Hubbell, Lara Sanderson Tami Szerlip, and Hui Tian were present.

STAFF PRESENT:

Scott Greenberg, Development Services Group Director; Shana Restall, Principal Planner; and Christina Schuck, Assistant City Attorney were present.

MEETING MINUTES APPROVAL:

The Commission reviewed the minutes from the May 13, 2015 meeting. Commissioner Hubbell motioned to approve the minutes as written. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Foster. The minutes were approved as written by a unanimous vote of 7-0.

REGULAR BUSINESS:

Agenda Item #1: Preliminary Review – Hines Mixed Use Development – 2728 and 2750 77th Avenue SE, and 2885 78th Avenue SE (DSR15-014)

Christina Schuck, Assistant City Attorney, polled the Design Commission regarding potential appearance of fairness issues. Chair Erwin, Vice-Chair Brandt, and Commissioner Sanderson disclosed that they have all participated in the Town Center Liaison Group, but they all stated that this did not affect their ability to be fair and impartial. Assistant City Attorney Schuck asked if anyone wanted to contest the impartiality of the Commissioners. Ira Appelman of 4436 Ferncroft Drive challenged the fairness and impartiality of Chair Erwin. Chair Erwin maintained that he could remain fair and impartial and opted not to recuse himself.

Shana Restall, Principal Planner, provided the staff presentation and responded to questions from the Commission. The Commission also asked questions of Scott Greenberg, Development Services Group Director and Christina Schuck, Assistant City Attorney.

Brian Runberg of Runberg Architectural Group (1 Yesler Way, Suite 200, Seattle, WA 98104) and Kris Snider of Hewitt (101 Stewart Street, Suite 200, Seattle, WA 98104) provided a presentation for the applicant and responded to questions from the Design Commission.

Chair Erwin requested questions and comments from the public at 8:47 PM.

Public comments were provided by:

- Bonnie Godfred of 2920 74th Avenue SE, Mercer Island, WA 98040
- Mike Gates of 2800 75th Place SE, Mercer Island, WA 98040
- Tom Acker of 2427 84th Avenue SE, Mercer Island, WA 98040
- Marc Glasser of 3467 77th Place SE, Mercer Island, WA 98040
- Dick Winslow of 3761 77th Avenue SE, Mercer Island, WA 98040
- Robert Medved of 7238 SE 32nd Street, Mercer Island, WA 98040
- Michelle Goldberg of 2212 78th Avenue SE, Mercer Island, WA 98040
- Nancy Hewitt Spaeth of 8320 SE 34th Street, Mercer Island, WA 98040
- Jim Eanes of 2930 76th Avenue SE, Mercer Island, WA 98040
- Lloyd Gilman of 7217 80th Avenue SE, Mercer Island, WA 98040

- Greg Rund of 2939 81st Place SE, #1, Mercer Island, WA 98040
- Cynthia Winiski of 2750 68th Avenue SE, Mercer Island, WA 98040
- Ira Appelman of 4436 Ferncroft Road, Mercer Island, WA 98040
- David Brondstetter of 3742 77th Place SE, Mercer Island, WA 98040

The Commissioners asked additional questions from the applicant and staff and deliberated the proposal.

Commissioner Sanderson moved to deny Hines preliminary design approval for a proposed mixed use development to be located at 2728 and 2750 77th Avenue SE and 2885 78th Avenue SE, as shown in Exhibits 1 and 2, rejecting on the basis of MICC 19.11.010(B) regarding urban design vision, and the scale and form.

Commissioner Tian seconded the motion.

The motion passed unanimously with a vote of 7-0.

Agenda Item #2: Election of Design Commission Chair and Vice-Chair

The Commission voted on Chair and Vice-Chair of the Design Commission. Staff asked for nominations for Chair. Commissioner Szerlip moved to nominate Commissioner Erwin as chair of the Design Commission. Commissioner Sanderson seconded the motion. No other Commissioner was nominated. The Commission unanimously voted (7-0) Commissioner Erwin as chair of the Design Commission.

Chair Erwin moved to nominate Commissioner Brandt as Vice-Chair of the Design Commission. Commissioner Sanderson seconded the motion. No other Commissioner was nominated. The Commission unanimously voted (7-0) Commissioner Brandt as Vice-Chair of the Design Commission.

OTHER BUSINESS:

A proposal for five townhomes outside of the Town Center will be returning to the Design Commission.

PLANNED ABSENCES FOR FUTURE MEETINGS:

Vice-Chair Brandt announced that he would be absent on June 24, 2015.

ANNOUNCEMENTS AND COMMUNICATIONS:

No meeting will be held on June 10, 2015, so the next regularly scheduled meeting is June 24, 2015.

ADJOURNMENT: Commissioner Szerlip moved to adjourn the meeting. Commissioner Hubbell seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously. The meeting was adjourned at 10:57 PM.

Respectfully submitted, Shana Restall, Principal Planner